If you have been arrested for a DUI in Georgia, you could have your Georgia driver’s license suspended, even before you go to Court. This is called an administrative license suspension, and it affects your right to drive on the roads and highways of Georgia. Having your license suspended can be a stressful consequence, especially for those who rely on their car to get to and from work, school, medical appointments, household chores, etc. If you have been arrested for a DUI in Georgia, it’s essential to secure legal representation from a skilled DUI defense attorney immediately. You must take action within 30 days of arrest or you can lose your rights to an appeal or interlock options. Here is some important information on how to fight for your driver’s license after a Georgia DUI.
What to Know About License Suspension in Georgia
In Georgia, if you are arrested for a DUI and you refuse to take a chemical test or your breath or blood alcohol concentration is over the legal limits in Georgia, the arresting officer can file a petition to have your license suspended before you go to Court. The officer must issue you a DS-1205 form stating the reason for license suspension. In the form will be a temporary driving permit—valid for 45 days—and information on how to appeal the suspension. If you do not take action within 30 days that you receive this form, the temporary permit will expire and you will automatically have your Georgia license suspended, or if you don’t have a Georgia license, your right to drive in Georgia suspended for one year or possibly longer.
It is important to note that having your license suspended is separate from a DUI conviction. Most license suspensions are issued for one year. Having your license suspended for a year is an extreme hardship, which is why it’s essential to speak with a DUI lawyer as soon after your arrest as possible. A DUI lawyer can request an administrative hearing and fight for your driving rights.
Opting for an Ignition Interlock Device
Another option for protecting your license after a DUI arrest is requesting to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. You must check to see if you qualify for this option with the Georgia Department of Driver Services. This can be an alternative option to requesting an administrative hearing. This device requires a driver to blow into a breathalyzer before the vehicle can turn on, essentially verifying their BAC before allowing you to drive the vehicle. If you blow into the device and your BAC level is above the legal limit, the car will not turn on.
If you elect to have an ignition interlock device installed to protect your license, you will have to pay installation and removal fees along with a monthly maintenance fee for possessing the device. Since an ignition interlock must usually be installed for at least one year, these costs can be fairly expensive. In addition, the permit is very restrictive on your driving rights. Working with a skilled DUI defense attorney is the best way to determine whether an administrative hearing or ignition interlock device is best for protecting your license.
Contact the DUI Defense Attorneys at Tony L. Blair P.C, Attorneys at Law
Getting charged with DUI and dealing with the long-term consequences can be an extremely stressful experience. Specifically, losing your driving rights can have a major impact on essential day-to-day priorities, like work, school, medical needs, etc. Fortunately, there are ways to protect your driving rights after a DUI arrest. But you must act within 30 days from the date of arrest or your rights may be lost.